Senior caregivers now are required to have annual caregiver training in the state of California to protect both the caregiver and the senior. The annual training must be at least 5 hours and may focus on any of the Core Competencies as outlined by the state after the passage of Assembly Bill 1217 which created the California Home Care Services Consumer Protection Act.
Professional caregivers working with seniors in their homes will now receive California Caregiver Training with information on home safety and policies and procedures and privacy policies, safe transfers and environmental safety along with all the basic caregiving skills review for their initial 10-hour training course.
California Caregiver Renewal Certification Requirements:
- 5-hours of Skills Training on Age-related Illnesses and Core Requirements
- Background Check passed and caregiver information on the state registry
California caregiver renewal training may be purchased at Caregiver Training University and you may review requirements at Caregiverlist as well and apply for a job in your area.